Since 2005, California employers with 50 or more employees were required to provide at least 2 hours of sexual harassment training every 2 years to each supervisory employee, and to new supervisory employees within 6 months of their assumption of a supervisory position. However, all employers may not yet know that the California anti-harassment training requirements were significantly expanded by the California legislature.
Now, California employers with 5 or more employees must provide sexual harassment training and education by January 1, 2021 to not just supervisory employees, but non-supervisory employees as well. This new law requires many California employers to provide anti-harassment training, for the first time, in both English and Spanish. Specifically. The training can be manual or companies can comply with California’s mandatory sexual harassment training online.
It requires that new non supervisory employees will be provided sexual harassment training within 6 months of hire. It requires that new supervisory employees will be provided sexual harassment training within 6 months of the assumption of a supervisory position.
It clarifies that an employer who has provided this training and education in 2019 is not required to provide it again until 2 years thereafter. Sexual harassment in the workplace can lead to emotional distress, decreased performance and be costly for your entire organization. Providing sexual harassment prevention training to your workforce helps combat this by building awareness and highlighting what to do when encountering these situations.